The more Sara, the better!

Daily dribble about life, pets, coupons and of course NKOTB!

Day 1 of Internship

on January 30, 2012

Today was my first day at ECC, it was interesting. I haven’t been in a shelter situation in a long time, so it’s nice to see how this one worked.

The tech’s were welcoming, some more helpful than others. (It would have been nice to have a tour of the facility)

Monday’s are low cost spay/neuter days so they had surgeries back to back from about 9:30am till 1:30pm. After 1 they are open for low cost vaccines so there was a lot of dogs coming back really quick for shots.

I mainly just observed the first hour or so, I was amazed at how fast the dr got each surgery done! I mean a neuter took her, probably 4-5 minutes MAX.

I thought it was kinda weird that they never really changed out the towels that they use on the surgery tables between patients. Only once was I asked to put a new towel down for the next patient. As much as we learn about “sterile environments” I guess things are a lot different in these fast paced spay/neuter situations. The drapes were completely sterile on every patient, just not the bottom towel on the table. The dr had a good system of getting herself gloved and opening new packs for every patient. They have a good routine set up between the tech and the dr.

Throughout the day I:

  • Restrained both dogs and cats
  • Prepped “the area” for a few neuters
  • Drew up rabies vaccines
  • Gave vaccines to dogs and cats
  • Pulled ET tubes when patients were recovering from anesthesia
  • Clipped nails
  • Microchipped cats
  • Pre-soaked and scrubbed instruments and placed them in the sanitizing machine
  • Cuddled puppies and kittens

I found out later in the day they have I think 6 different “Cat houses” outside where they have colonies of cats living. Some HIV+, leukemia +, and some that are just waiting for their forever homes. They’re small modular type buildings that look like houses, they have lots of kitty accomodations in them, including beds, toys, ย AC/Heat, and outdoor fenced in areas.

Most of the cats indoors were all positive for Ringworm so I didnt interact with them at all.

The hardest part of the day was when a beautful 7-8 year old husky was brought in to be euthanized. He had been having seizures the past 2 days and was no longer able to really control his bodily functions. The owners had spoken with their current vet and a tech at ECC, and come to this as their decision. It was really hard and truth be told I did have to leave the room to save face. Fortunately the company they called for cremation came within about 20 minutes to pick him up. I know most places utilize freezers because they only have pick ups once a week.

There was someone else there from “Heritage” ย College who I assume is in the assistant program there, but she didnt really seem to know a lot about anything that was going on. They had her mostly doing front desk stuff, answering phones, and then we showed her how to administer vaccines.

I’m hoping that next week I’ll get to do more things like place an ET tube, or prep for surgey (shaving and anesthesia), or learn how their intake system works more in depth and paperwork wise.

2 responses to “Day 1 of Internship

  1. Redscylla says:

    This is so amazing to me, that the surgeries can be done so quickly, but it makes me happy. The low-cost clinics are a lifesaver for lots of pets and people. That’s how my sister got her whole feral colony spayed/neutered. When I used to volunteer at a shelter in Florida, I had to have this crazy procedure to disinfect myself before I went home to my own cats. (And part of the procedure involved me being in my underwear in the shelter parking lot. Yay.)

    • yeah there were a bunch of cats w/ ring worm so i stayed far away from them!!

      it’s insane how they do them so fast, back to back.

      The dogs went crazy smelling me when i got home.
      I wondered if Abbie recognized the smell of the place since thats where we got her from.

Leave a Reply

